Photographer

Altafulla to Perpignan

24 Rue du Docteur Koch
Perpignan, Languedoc 66100
France

I woke at 3:30, 4:30, 5:30 and 6:30 this morning. Breakfast was at 8:30. I’d had enough and decided, after a bit of a mental struggle, to get out of bed and go for a run. I headed down the hill towards Altafulla’s beach front. There was hardly a soul around. I don’t understand it, it’s beautifully cool at that time in the morning and yet everyone is still sleeping.

Returning to the hotel I discovered that my key to the nigh door didn’t work and I was trapped outside. I rang the night telephone number, this being an only temporarily staffed hotel, but it didn’t work. I sat on the step and played with my phone for half an hour until the cleaning lady turned up.

I couldn’t decide which way to go today, something complicated by the fact that my GPS doesn’t have maps for France. I started off badly, missing three turns in a row because the GPS was slow in catching up with my position. Frustrated, I decided to reprogram it and take the shortest route to Perpignan, even though this would take me down the toll roads. At the first booth I felt rushed by the cars behind, so unable to get a pocket open with my gloves on, I stuffed the ticket in my teeth. Not the most sensible thing to do. Realising that this wasn’t a viable option I managed to stuff it into my pocket as I rode along. This wasn’t wise either, as the screwed up ticket wouldn’t work in the terminal at the pay booth and I had to wait for someone to come and help me, much to my embarrassment and the frustration of the drivers behind. I resolved to find a better system.

At the second toll booth of the day I took my time and carefully inserted the ticket in the ma case on my tank bag before driving off. Cracked it, I thought. But as I arrived at the pay booth thirty kilometers down the road I discover that the ticket had vanished. I mustn’t have done up the Velcro properly. More angry motorcyclists.

When I arrived at the Hotel Kyriad Perpingan Sud Ina small industrial estate outside this nice French town (great choice Nick), Dave’s bike was already in the car park.

3 responses

  1. Cathie McIntyre

    Whew! Sounds like a frustrating day! But the photos are gorgeous, and you are in a lovely part of the world.

    June 24, 2015 at 6:10 am

  2. Mike Hardcastle

    Hi, I keep looking but their are no more entries after this one. Please keep up the story.
    Mike

    June 26, 2015 at 7:52 am

  3. @Mustapha Radiy. Please don’t tell someone that they are not Muslim if they are gay unless you are God. God decides who is Muslim and who is not and n Click http://d2.ae/hool090715

    April 8, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Leave a Reply

